Ficbit: Strange Thread: Godtalk

Thread over at Crossover Queen’s Creative Chaos reminded me if this bit from a shelved fanfic:

On Writing: Sincere and Honest Faith | Crossover Queen’s Creative Chaos
https://crossoverqueen.wordpress.com/2023/04/04/on-writing-sincere-and-honest-faith/)

Thought it was fun so posting it here:

“Explain it to my like I’m not Joy and haven’t been studying this at your feet for my entire life.”

Suwako gave a weak laugh, “Yeah, she looks just like you too.”

“She looks like her father, and you are stalling.”

“Guess I am, aren’t I? Sigh. Their faith is incredible, intoxicating. They wanted you to be their god, you know?”

“Great. And I want to go home. We just got the youngest married off, and I want to see the grandkids. Besides, I don’t care for hearts.”

“Youmu, That’s not really how it works…”

“And I can make my own flower arraignments too.”

Suwako didn’t even bother suppressing the snort. “You have gotten persistent, haven’t you?”

“Yep, and you’re still stalling.”

“Guess I still am. How much did Joy tell you about how gods work?”

“They like incense, faith and not explaining things.”

“Being cryptic is not ‘not explaining things’. When gods tell you something direct, you’ve gotta do it, or it’s bad.”

“And you are finally being straight with me, which means…”

“Congrats, you’ve been promoted to prophet. Sorry I don’t have a fancy hat for you.”

Youmu sighed heavily. “… I did ask you for help, didn’t I?”

“Naw, this is good. Passing up on becoming a god counts really high in your tally.”

“An evil god.”

Suwako chuckled again, “You’d be surprised how few people care about that part…”

Leave a comment